Research Affiliates

The Shull Wollan Center works with prominent members of the neutron research community to provide a platform for incubating future science, to engage new communities and industry, and to provide neutron science training and education. 

Individuals interested in becoming an SWC Research Affiliate should send a request for consideration to swc-jins@tennessee.edu.

Current Research Affiliates & Partnered Institutions

Affiliate Contact Info Research Area

Ke An, Senior R&D Staff/Lead Instrument Scientist-VULCAN
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

kean@ornl.gov
(865) 919-5226

Chemical & Engineering Materials

Cristian Batista, Lincoln Chair Professor
University of Tennessee

cbatist2@utk.edu
(865) 974-0771

Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics

Hassina Bilheux, Lead Instrument Scientist-IMAGING
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

bilheuxhn@ornl.gov
(865) 384-9630

Chemical & Engineering Materials

J. David Bowman, Task Leader-Neutron Physics
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

bowmanjd@ornl.gov
(865) 574-4496

Fundamental Neutron Physics

Leah Broussard, Wigner Fellow
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

broussardlj@ornl.gov
(865) 574-4497

Fundamental Neutron Physics

Wei-Ren Chen, Instrument Scientist-NSE
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

chenw@ornl.gov
(865) 574-7979

Structure & Dynamics of Soft Matter

Hahn Choo, Associate Professor
University of Tennessee

hchoo@utk.edu
(865) 974-3643

Chemical & Engineering Materials

Vince Cianciolo, Group Leader-Neutron Physics
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

cianciolotv@ornl.gov
(865) 574-4712

Fundamental Neutron Physics

Sarah Cousineau, Group Leader-Accelerator Physics
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

scousine@ornl.gov
(865) 241-8651

Accelerator Physics

Mark Dadmun, Joint Faculty Professor
University of Tennessee
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

dad@utk.edu
(865) 974-6582

Structure & Dynamics of Soft Matter

Yuri Efremenko, Joint Faculty Professor
University of Tennessee
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

yefremen@utk.edu
(865) 574-4706

Neutrino Physics

Takeshi Egami, Joint Faculty Distinguished Scientist/Professor
University of Tennessee
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

egami@utk.edu
(865) 574-5165

Condensed Matter Physics

Mike Fitzsimmons, Joint Faculty Professor
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
University of Tennessee

fitzsimmonsm@ornl.gov
(865) 574-7243

Condensed Matter Physics

Nadia Fomin, Assistant Professor
University of Tennessee

nfomin@utk.edu
(865) 974-1509

Fundamental Neutron Physics

Oksana Gerlits, Joint Researcher
University of Tennessee
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

gerlitsoo@ornl.gov

Biological Sciences

Geoff Greene, Professor/Group Leader-Neutron Physics
University of Tennessee
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

ggreene@utk.edu
(865) 576-0023

Fundamental Neutron Physics

Bianca Haberl, Weinberg Fellow
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

haberlb@ornl.gov

Chemical & Engineering Materials

John Katsaras, Joint Faculty Professor/Senior Scientist
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
University of Tennessee

katsarasj@ornl.gov
(865) 274-8824

Biology & Biophysics

Maik Lang, Assistant Professor and Pietro F. Pasqua Fellow
University of Tennessee

mlang2@utk.edu
(865) 974-2525

Disordered Materials

John Z. Larese, Professor
University of Tennessee

jzl@utk.edu
(865) 974-3429

Chemical & Engineering Materials

Maxim Lavrentovich, Associate Professor
University of Tennessee

mlavrent@utk.edu
(865) 974-5974

Biophysics & Soft Condensed Matter Physics

Peter Liaw, Professor/Ivan Racheff Chair of Excellence
University of Tennessee

pliaw@utk.edu
(865) 974-6356

Condensed Matter Physics

David Mandrus, Professor
University of Tennessee

dmandrus@utk.edu
(865) 974-3609

Quantum Materials

Flora Meilleur, Associate Professor/Lead Instrument Scientist-IMAGINE
North Carolina State University
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
 

fmeille@ncsu.edu
(865) 576-2779

Energy & the Environment

Jason Newby, R&D Staff/Physicist
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

newbyrj@ornl.gov
(865) 241-2164

Neutrino Physics

Andrew Payzant, Group Leader-Engineering Materials
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

payzanta@ornl.gov
(865) 235-4981

Chemical & Engineering Materials

Seppo Penttila, Experimentalist-Neutron Physics
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

penttilasi@ornl.gov
(865) 574-4737

Fundamental Neutron Physics

Dayakar Penumadu, Fred N. Peebles Professor/JIAM Chair of Excellence
University of Tennessee

dpenumad@utk.edu
(865) 974-7708

Chemical & Engineering Materials

Fyl Pincus, Distinguished Professor
University of California, Santa Barbara

fyl@mrl.ucsb.edu 
(805) 893 4685

Soft Condensed Matter Physics

Bob Standaert, Chair/Professor
East Tennessee State University

Standaert@etsu.edu
(865) 439-4367

Chemistry

Alan Tennant, SWC Director

tennantda@ornl.gov
(865) 574-2574

Quantum Materials

Matt Tucker, Advanced Diffraction Group Leader
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

tuckermg@ornl.gov
(865) 574-5242

Chemical & Engineering Materials

Ziling "Ben" Xue, Professor
University of Tennessee

xue@utk.edu
(865) 974-3443

Materials Chemistry